It’s Totally Not a Duck

I don’t know about you guys, but I woke up this morning chomping at the bit to deny women their legal right to control of their own bodies. I said to myself, “Man! I really want to stop this abortion thing, but I don’t want my friends to think I’m religious!” Well, rest easy, me! Secularprolife.org has a solution, their “secular” approach to being anti-choice!

I couldn’t believe it, but there it was on Skepchick, a report from the American Atheist’s conference. The post has a photo of their booth, backed by a big fetus-bearing poster that says, “because my embryology textbook tells me so.”

Well, it’s a cute tactic. But you can’t just pull the switcheroo and put a biology textbook in there thinking I’m gonna go for that. It’s missing the point. I don’t take any point of view because one book tells me so. I corroborate my information with many different sources. Science textbooks are notoriously fraught with mistakes, after all.

This website itself appears to strongly advocate abstinence and doesn’t really offer much in the way of scientific info. Their brochure claiming a fetus is a person has a terse list of short, badly backed reasons, “philosophical” info and a few clips from law books of different countries. So what?

I have no proof that this organization is actually a front put up by religious people, but that’s okay, because I don’t need to prove that to find this abhorrent. You see, one of the major reasons religions like Christianity raise my bile to begin with is their negative preoccupation with sex and their consequent desire to latch on to a woman’s womb and control it. I don’t like seafood. If some douchebag hands me something and says, “Try this. It’s not seafood!” and then it tastes like seafood, well that sucks, even if it wasn’t really seafood. Not interested.

Sorry, fish and chips! Image Some rights reserved by David Ascher

 

This entry was posted in bucket of dicks, i see what you're up to, so wrong it's right, they call this SCIENCE and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Totally Not a Duck

  1. That looks delicious.

    I used to argue on the pro side, but then I learned more about the biology of the fetus and changed my mind.

Leave a Reply

